Union Institute & University Board of Trustees Elects New Chairperson, Trustees, and Treasurer

The Board of Trustees of Union Institute & University elected a new chairperson, two new trustees, and a new treasurer at its January 25, 2018 quarterly meeting. The appointments are effective through January 25, 2020.

The new chairperson is Ms. Christine van Duelmen, former executive director and conference coordinator for the International Council for Innovation in Higher Education. She also works as a consultant specializing in adult online education. The Toronto, Canada native has served on the Union Board of Trustees since 2004. She replaces Mr. Roger Allbee of Townshend, Vermont, who served in that position for the last two years and will continue as a trustee.

Dr. Kim Byas, a trustee since 2014, will serve as Vice Chair. Dr. Byas is a health care leader and serves as Regional Executive with the American Hospital Association. He is also a UI&U alumnus, earning his Ph.D. in Ethical and Creative Leadership in 2013.

Julie S. Washington and Felice Nudelman were elected as new trustees.

Ms. Washington is an accomplished senior executive whose career spans Fortune 500 companies including Procter & Gamble, Gillette, Nestle Purina Petcare, Jamba Juice, Luxottica and Bristol-Myers Squibb. She is founder and president of Inspired Actions, LLC, a consulting and coaching company.

Ms. Nudelman is Executive Vice President of the Weiss Institute at the Say Yes to Education Foundation. Prior to joining the foundation, she served as Chancellor of Antioch University in Yellow Springs, OH, from 2011 to 2016 and as chief global officer, innovation & partnerships. She spent 12 years with The New York Times Company, responsible for developing and overseeing education initiatives, including The New York Times Knowledge Network.

Mr. Donald Feldmann, will serve as treasurer. Mr. Feldmann is President and CEO

Rippe & Kingston Capital Advisors, Inc. He has served as a trustee since 1989 in numerous positions including chairperson.

Dr. Roger H. Sublett, President of Union Institute & University will continue in his role as secretary.

Union’s Board of Trustees members are as follows:

Mr. Roger Allbee
Retired CEO, Grace Cottage Hospital and Rural Health Clinic
Retired Secretary of Agriculture
Townshend, VT

Dr. Richard N. Aft (Union Ph.D. 2000)
Philanthropic Leadership
Cincinnati, OH

Dr. Kim Byas (Union Ph.D. 2013)
Regional Executive, American Hospital Association
Chicago, IL

Dr. Lee Binder (Union Ph.D. 2001)
Head of School
Greenfield Day School
Miami, FL

Mr. Steven Bishop, CPA
Senior Manager, Assurance
Plante & Moran
Cincinnati, OH

Dr. Dan Cahill
VP, Market Leader, Kentucky
Horan & Associates
Cincinnati, OH

Ms. Sharon Dunbar
Vice President, General Manager
Federal Systems, General Dynamics Mission Systems
Alexandria, VA

Mr. Donald Feldmann
President and CEO
Rippe & Kingston Capital Advisors, Inc.
Cincinnati, OH

Ms. Kay Goss
World Disaster Management, Inc.
Washington, DC

Dr. Gladys Gossett Hankins (Union Ph.D. 1994)
President, Global Management Consultant
Telora Victor, Inc.
Cincinnati, OH

Dr. Shekhar Mitra
President, InnoPreneur
Former SVP, Global Innovation, Procter & Gamble Company
Cincinnati, OH

Felice Nudelman
Executive Vice President
Weiss Institute Say Yes to Education Foundation
New York, NY

Dr. Roger H. Sublett (Secretary)
(Ex officio)
Union Institute & University
Cincinnati, OH

Mr. Edgar L. Smith, Jr.
World Pac Paper, LLC
Cincinnati, OH

Dr. Dennis Tartakow (Union Ph.D. 2001, M.Ed., 2006, Ed.D. 2010)
Editor in Chief
Ortho Tribune
Marina del Rey, CA

Ms. Julie S. Washington
Inspired Actions, LLC
Mason, OH

The Board of Trustees meets four times a year.

Union is committed to your educational success. Start your degree today. Click below.